Na Moolelo Lecture Series

Iolani Palace invites you to join us for our Na Moolelo Lecture Series. The lectures feature presentations by Hawaiian cultural experts, historians, and museum professionals that will prompt discussion of Hawaii history and culture as well as museum practices.

The free Na Moolelo Lecture series continues Iolani Palace mission to preserve and share Hawaii’s unique cultural and historical qualities with the community.


Featured Lecture

"Following In Kapiolani's Footsteps"

Colette Higgins | April 12, 2020

While many people are familiar with the life and legacy of Queen Kapiolani, few know about her incredible voyage to London to attend Queen Victoria’s golden jubilee celebrations in 1887. In this lecture, Colette Higgins will describe the length and complexity of the trip while sharing insights from her own voyage to travel - quite literally - in the footsteps of the late Queen.

Colette Higgins, a self-described “typical local girl,” was born and raised in Hawaii and lives in Kaneohe. She currently serves as dean of academic affairs, division I & academic support at Windward Community College, where she continues to conduct research and present on the life and legacy of Queen Kapiolani. Higgins received her Bachelor’s degree in history and anthropology and Master’s degrees in history and Pacific Islands history from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Before joining Windward Community College, she served as a professor of history at Kapiolani Community College, where she was employed for 24 years and taught world history, Hawaiian history, Pacific Islands history and a College Success course. A strong service-learning advocate, Higgins has encouraged her students to serve in the community to enhance their understanding of Hawaiian history. She believes that student and faculty excursions to the loi kalo (taro patch) and loko ia (fishpond) provide unforgettable learning-by-doing experiences that make Hawaiian culture come alive. Her dedication to her students won her the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in 2002, and the UH Board of Regents’ Excellence in Teaching Award in 2007.